Teacher Licensure

Illinois Teacher Licensure and Other States

The following are member states of the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement who have signed reciprocity agreements with Illinois.

Alabama Kansas New Hampshire South Dakota
Arizona Kentucky New Jersey Tennessee
Arkansas Louisiana New Mexico Texas
California Maine New York Utah
Colorado Maryland North Carolina Vermont
Connecticut Massachusetts North Dakota Virginia
Delaware Michigan Ohio Washington
Florida Mississippi Oklahoma West Virginia
Georgia Missouri Oregon Wisconsin
Hawaii Montana Pennsylvania Wyoming
Idaho Nebraska Rhode Island
Indiana Nevada South Carolina


See http://www.nasdtec.net/page/Interstate and http://www.nasdtec.net/page/InterstateAgreements

All jurisdictions that participate in the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement  may choose to have additional requirements for educators who are coming from another jurisdiction.  These additional requirements are known as “Jurisdiction Specific Requirements” (JSRs).  Most times these additional requirements vary upon the educator’s years of experience.  Some jurisdictions, however, consider themselves “full-reciprocity” and do not have any additional requirements.

IMPORTANT NOTE TO PROSPECTIVE TEACHER CANDIDATES:  Each state is responsible for its own certification/licensure requirements, which may change without notice to NASDTEC or your university’s certification officers or your state’s office of certification.  You must contact the office of certification in any state to which you may be relocating to get the most accurate information on certification requirements. One important guideline is that reciprocity is always easier if you completed the certification requirements and obtained your teaching credential in the state where you completed your program requirements.

For more information about Illinois licensure, check http://www.isbe.net/licensure or call 866-262-6663.

There’s no application fee when you apply online.